Face behind “A Heartbeat”

Meet Rabiya Ashraf Sahibzada, a Mass Communication student at National University of Science and Technology (NUST), an amazing person – A day  with her is a day spent well.

Rabiya has recently published her first book “A Heartbeat. Other than her passion for writing, her interests include travelling, photography and changing DP‘s on Facebook, she jokes. She has a creative mind of a genius and can make an ordinary thing look more attractive and appealing through her words. She enjoys watching Dramas and Movies. Loves music and long walks!

"A Heartbeat"
Photo: Fizza Bangash
Click the picture to visit “A Heartbeat’s” official page

Rabiya is a source of inspiration for me; no matter how many books I have read so far and how many I will read, hers will always stay as the best one. It is the story of Rabiya Ashraf’s (our very own Bia’s) life, a story of a mother’s battle with cancer and her daughter’s battle with herself. “A Heartbeat” had me laughing and crying both at the same time, then laughing more and crying more. A true story – will allow you to relive the relationship between a mother and a daughter. “A Heartbeat” contains an epitome of pure love!

Here is your chance to know Rabiya Ashraf Saibzada and what made her write this beautiful book. I managed to catch Rabiya to share a few amazing moments, thus interviewed her recently! Enjoy Reading =)

Tell me about yourself?

I love travelling. I like photography I don’t like taking pictures of everyone and everything. I like nature photography – I enjoy doing that.

What makes Rabiya Ashraf happy?

When I have people I love, around me.

What inspired you to write your first book?

There are even moments now when I don’t understand why I wrote this book. The book is a compilation of my thoughts and feelings. It was planned in a way that when my mother was sick I told her I would write a book about her. It was a way of telling her that I understood that she was leaving.

Telling someone that you are going to write a book about them is a sort of confirmation, a way of telling them that there will be a memory of you.

Why did you name your book “A Heartbeat”?

It is one of those things that just hit me – like the idea of writing a book.

She said “During the last moments of my mother the doctors reported that her brain was dead but her heart was still beating (Although it was only for some moments). So it was then that I realized that it’s the heart that keeps you alive – it is the last straw – if your heart is beating you can do everything”.

How long did it take you to complete “A Heartbeat”??

Three years.

What were the challenges in bringing “A Heartbeat” to life?

EDITING – very difficult for me to go through it again, it was very painful to re-read my own book. It brought back memories.

Why did you choose self-publishing?

Actually I didn’t know much about publishing. My father encouraged me, if it wouldn’t have been for him I wouldn’t have published it.

Do you have any advice for other aspiring authors?

You should never be shy of expressing your thoughts and feelings. Be confident of what you write.

Any message you want the reader to grasp or to take from “a Heartbeat”?Publication1

Take care of your mother.

The Best review of “A Heartbeat” you have ever had so far?

It is quite overwhelming if people tell me that they cried after reading my book.

If you had to choose, which writer would you consider as a mentor?

Mitch Albom

Which book/ books have influenced your life?

“Hmm.  A very good Question, I think – Mohammad’s Allah – It talks about Allah in ways no one else has ever talked about”.

Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak & Pride and Prejudice

What is the most inspirational thing that you have learned from your school?

Friends can be family, It’s okay to be happy and crazy sometimes and old people are wise and inspiring

What is your favorite childhood book or story?

Short stories by Enid Blyton and Roald Dhal, and “sweet valley series”

Any books you have started and you were unable to finish?

“Many books”, upon insisting Rabiya gave some names:

Paper Towns by John Green, Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella, On the Line of Fire by Pervez Musharaf and Islam a short History by Karen Armstrong”

What is the one work/author you feel everyone must read?

Pride and Prejudice

Have you ever seen yourself as a character of any book or movie?

Elizabeth Bennet – Pride and Prejudice

She said “I can relate to her, she is more like me blunt, lively and outgoing”

Any Future plans – any breaking news for your fans (readers)?

I am planning to write another book. The main theme of second book is going to be LOVE! That’s all I can say right now.

Any message you want to convey to your family, friends and fans?

Every day is a gift. Try to be positive. Be with people who love you and give you positive energy. Try to give happiness to others and you will feel better.

News Alert: A Heartbeat’s stock is now available with Rabiya, order your copies on the official Heartbeat’s Facebook page – before it is too late =P

https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/A-Heartbeat/367484553365711?fref=ts

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Romesa Athar says:

    Well Structured, Enjoyed reading it! 🙂

  2. Zoha says:

    Nice interview. =P
    Seems like a really nice book, would really want to read it.

    1. Hira Amjad says:

      Thankyou,
      And you can order your copy on Heartbeat’s facebook page!

  3. Loony says:

    I loved reading all of that! 😀

    1. Hira Amjad says:

      Thankyou very much 🙂

Leave a Reply

