“Me Before You”

me-before-you-by-jojo-moyes-3

After giving myself a break of 2 months, i finally decided to read a book. I picked “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. Trust me, my choice couldn’t have been better. I am intrigued and surprised. This book gave me an emotional break down at so many points.

“Me before you” is funny, hopeful and heartbreaking. A narrative that is close to reality. It is a book that evinces how one person can change the way you think, act and believe.  Louisa Clark (known as Lou), just an ordinary girl, and Will Traynor, a powerful and charismatic businessman, didn’t know that soon there paths are going to cross. They were unaware that they were going to change each other for lifetime. Jojo Moyes,  an acclaimed author, knows how to pull emotions out of her readers.

Lou is twenty-six and lives with her parents, grandfather and her single-mother sister Treena. Will Traynor was a businessman/ playboy/ adventurer who climbed mountains and bungee-jumped in his free time. Since being hit by a motorcycle he has spent the last two years confined to a wheelchair unable to walk or even feed himself. Hence, he beccame bitter and hopeless. Lou enters Will’s life as a caretaker. Neither of them wanted to be together for a while but than their forced proximity allows them to reassess.

Moving to the story, Me before you presents a different perspective. With humor but also moments of intense poignancy, Moyes captures the reader from page one. For many reasons you will remember this book for a long time. It is not a conventional romance with an expected ending of “living happily ever after”. You get to learn about realities of life. You experience world from the eyes of Will Traynor, who is a quadriplegic. You learn that sometimes you cannot change people no matter what. Moyes does a magnificent job of conjuring a cast of characters who are so charismatic and compelling.

The pace of the book is smooth, leaving out unnecessary details, which is quite unlike Jojo Moyes. I am glad this time Moyes had something different to share. I remember reading “The peacock emporium” and “Sheltering rain“, it took me almost a month to finish both of them. However, unexpectedly i finished Me before you within one day and enjoyed every bit of it.

To sum all my thoughts, it was a tearjerker, I cared deeply about Will and Lou, Reading about them made me happy and I couldn’t put this story down. Cried my eyes out at the end, but still would highly recommend this lovely book. Honestly it gives you a lot to think about. Jojo Moyes has done a really good job and i don’t have a single criticism to make.

Some of my favorite lines from “Me Before You”

  • “Sometimes Clark, you are pretty much the only thing that makes me want to get up in the morning.”
  • “I had a hundred and seventeen days in which to convince Will Traynor that he had a reason to live.”
  • “There are normal hours, and then there are invalid hours, where time stalls and slips, where life—real life—seems to exist at one remove.”
  • “Some mistakes…just have greater consequences than others. But you don’t have to let that night be the thing that defines you”
  • “We are all part of some great cycle, some pattern that it was only God‘s purpose to understand.”

Some of the thoughts that encouraged me to read this book. Hope you also find them helpful.

Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heart-breakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?                                             —Barnes and Noble 

“When I finished this novel, I didn’t want to review it: I wanted to reread it. . . . an affair to remember.”
New York Times Book Review, Liesl Schillinger

“There are books that you cannot put down. There are also books where you become so invested in the characters, you force yourself to stop reading to prolong the experience because you don’t want the story to end, and that’s what can happen when you read Jojo Moyes’ latest book, Me Before You. . . . You’ll find yourself laughing, smiling, feeling angry and, yes, crying. My only suggestion: Me Before You should be sold with a pack of tissues.”
The Associated Press

Have you read this book? Do share your feelings! XD

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Sounds interesting. Hope I get my hands on this one soon!

    1. Hira Amjad says:

      Madiha do try, you will not regret it.
      P.s if you liked “The fault in our stars” than you will surely Love this one!

  2. Lynn Worton says:

    This sounds like an interesting read! I would love to read it, but my To Be Reviewed list is already overflowing! However, I will look it up on Goodreads and add it to my list, so that I don’t forget about it. 🙂
    Great review by the way! – Lynn from Book Reviews by Lynn

    1. Hira Amjad says:

      Thankyou so much Lynn (=

  3. Anastasi says:

    Hi, I loved the book also, and your review. I’m hosting my book club meeting next month and looking for ideas to enhance the discussion besides the Book Discussion questions from the publisher. I love the quotes you provided…do you know who said which ones? I was thinking of maybe playing a “game” where the other book club members have to match who said what. Let me know if you have any ideas! Thanks!

  4. Anastasia Kerris says:

    Hi, I loved this book too and your review. I also like the quotes you pulled. Do you know who said what? I’m hosting my book club soon and I want to have them play a game matching who said what. Do you have any other ideas on how to enhance the book club meeting besides the Book Discussion Questions? Thanks!

  5. I finished reading the book just ten minutes ago, i was wallowing in a deep sort of sadness so i decided to see what the internet has in terms of consoling me XD here i am! i’m glad we feel the same, and great post about the book. The movies is gonna be released soon i find and i cannot wait! i’m not watching the trailers!

Leave a Reply

