Eleanor & Park

Eleanor & Park is about music, family and two teenage misfits.

Eleanor & Park Goodreads This is my first Rainbow Rowell’s novel. The two main reasons that I picked up this book were that it received some glowing reviews and it was being compared to John Green’s The Fault in our stars, which I really liked. So, I had to give it a shot.

On the whole this is how I feel about Eleanor & Park:

1) I will not say that it was Extraordinary, Heart Wrenching or Memorable. Because it wasn’t. However, I definitely felt something for the two people who build that universe: Eleanor and Park.

2) Eleanor and Park were wonderful. It’s always such a treat when you get characters this fully realized that you can swear you’ve met them, that you actually know them and see through them.

3) The reference to music was just perfect. Eleanor & Park reveals that how music has its own language that can be used to speak to someone when words fail us.

9248917

4) I don’t know why but at several points I had to skim through the story.I didn’t like being dragged into Eleanor’s and Park’s head again and again and again. More then half of the time Rowell is talking to us through Eleanor’s or Park’s thoughts which was petty distracting for me alongside dialogues.

5) My main complaint is that Rowell tried putting 100 pounds of plot into a 50-pound bag. It’s not fair because when you are building a world it’s your job to be fair – to do justice to every single character. I felt that many characters lacked proper ending.

My only favorite quote from the book:

“I just can’t believe that life would give us to each other,’ he said, ‘and then take it back.’
‘I can,’ she said. ‘Life’s a bastard.” 

On the whole it was short, well-written but not magical. 2.5 wasn’t an option so I gave it 3 stars. A good teen age romance and if you are a John Green & Cecilia Ahern fan: you may give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

