2016 Wrap-Up: Best Books

With Christmas and New Year just around the corner, 2016 reading wrap up is definitely in order. On a slightly serious note 2016 had been a bad year, and I am totally looking forward to 2017 and making good choices.

In terms of reading 2016 had been a pleasant surprise, for the first time I met my reading goals, and managed to read 75 books, OH YES! 75 FREAKING BOOKS!! Just like every other year, a few experiences were really good, while some of the books I might never pick up again. A bunch of them were really inspirational, laughed like a maniac while reading some of those brilliant books, while cried rivers over couple of them. So, my 2016 bookish journey had been an emotional roller coaster.

I totally believe in sharing my reading experiences with the world, therefore I compiled this list featuring the best books I read this year. (Read captions)

1- 1984 by George Orwell

An absolute marvel, perhaps the best Dystopian Fiction piece written ever. 
An absolute marvel, perhaps the best Dystopian Fiction piece written ever.

2- Winter by Marissa Meyer

I totally have a thing for Happy Endings, and this series had it all, wouldn't have it any other way. Also the boys were my favorite. Highly recommended to Sci-Fi fans. 
I totally have a thing for Happy Endings, and this series had it all, wouldn’t have it any other way. Also the boys were my favorite. Highly recommended to Sci-Fi fans.

3- Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

HOLY SHIT! This was a wild ride. Recommended to EVERYONE! 
HOLY SHIT! This was a wild ride. Recommended to EVERYONE!

4- Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Heart-wrenching! 
Heart-wrenching!

5- Illuminae – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Unlike anything I have ever read before. The story, writing style and characters were definitely a few things to fangirl about. Read yourself to find out more.  
Unlike anything I have ever read before. The story, writing style and characters were definitely a few things to fangirl about. Read yourself to find out more.

6- A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Mass

img_20160607_224412
Sequel to Maas’s A Court of Thorns and Roses, why you should read this book? Rhysand!

7- A Darker Shade of Magic by Victoria E. Schwab

img_20160526_195337
To save the universe the protagonist had to travel between the capitals of four different worlds. There, I said it all. If you are looking for something unique and different, this is it!

8- Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling

I gotta go back to HOGWARTS!! Had to be the best bookish year ever.
I gotta go back to HOGWARTS!! Had to be the best bookish year ever.

9- Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Sequel to the famous Throne of Glass series, this had to be in this list. One of the Best Books I read in 2016. 
Sequel to the famous Throne of Glass series, this had to be in this list. One of the Best Books I read in 2016.

10- It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

All that talk about changing lives and inspiring people with literature, well Colleen Hoover pulled it off with this one. Highly recommended to those holding onto unhealthy relationships because of guilt or love, or countless other reasons. Read it, this book might help put things into perspective.
All that talk about changing lives and inspiring people with literature, well Colleen Hoover pulled it off with this one. Highly recommended to those holding onto unhealthy relationships because of guilt or love, or countless other reasons. Read it, this book might help put things into perspective.

11- Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Soul shattering sequel to an amazing duology. The first book is also included in this list - Six of Crows. Just read it, do I need to add more? Really?!
Soul shattering sequel to an amazing duology. The first book is also included in this list – Six of Crows. Just read it, do I need to add more? Really?!

12- The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

img_20161109_235351
A cute and fun read, highlighting the fact that true love is above and beyond ethnic, social and geographical boundaries.

Well, that’s pretty much it. I highly recommend these twelve books to you all and would love to hear your thoughts if you have read them. Also why don’t you make a list of Best Books you read in 2016, in fact I nominate you all to make the list and share it with all of us. =)

Leave a Reply

